International Conference on Database Theory

Call For Papers (PDF)

The series of ICDT conferences provides a biennial, international forum for the communication of research advances on the principles of database systems. This year, for the first time, ICDT will be held jointly with EDBT (“Extending Database Technology”). ICDT will be on March 23–25, 2009, and EDBT will be on March 24–26, 2009.


Suggested, but not exclusive, topics of interest for submissions include: Access methods and physical design; Active databases; Complexity and performance; Constraint databases; Data exchange, data integration and interoperability; Data mining; Data models; Database programming and query languages; Databases and information retrieval; Probabilistic Databases; Databases and workflow; Databases and the Semantic Web; Databases in e- commerce; Databases in e-services; Deductive databases and knowledge bases; Distributed databases; Integrity and security; Logic and databases; Multimedia databases; Query optimization; Query processing; Real-time databases; Semi- structured, XML, and Web data; Spatial data; Temporal data; Concurrency and recovery; Transaction management; Views and data warehousing.


Paper submission will be electronic. Authors are required to submit a paper title and short abstract (about 100 words) before submitting the paper. The deadline for abstract submissions is August 7, 2008.

. The length should not exceed 15 letter-sized pages, with reasonable page layout and font size at least 11pt. If the authors believe more details are necessary to substantiate the main claims of the paper, they may also include a clearly marked appendix to be read at the discretion of the committee. Papers not conforming to these requirements may be rejected without further consideration. The deadline for paper submission is August 14, 2008. Both deadlines are firm; late submissions will not be considered. Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by November 6, 2008; accepted papers formatted for the proceedings will be due by December 8, 2008.

Submission website:

The first page should include the title of the paper, names and affiliations of authors, a brief synopsis, and the contact author’s name, address, phone number, fax number, and email address. Papers must be in English and provide sufficient detail to allow the program committee to assess their merits. They should begin with a succinct statement of the issues, a summary of the main results, and a brief explanation of their significance and relevance to the conference, all phrased for the non-specialist. Technical development directed to the specialist should follow. References and comparisons with related work should be included. If the authors believe more details are necessary to substantiate the main claims of the paper, they may include a clearly marked appendix to be read at the discretion of the committee. Submissions departing significantly from these guidelines risk rejection.

The results must be unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere, including the formal proceedings of other symposia or workshops. All authors of accepted papers will be expected to sign copyright release forms. One author of each accepted paper will be expected to present it at the conference.

The proceedings will appear in the ACM International Conference Proceedings Series.


An award will be given to the best paper. Also, an award will be given to the best paper written by newcomers to the field of database theory. The latter award will preferentially be given to a paper written only by students; in that case the award will be called “Best Student Paper Award”. The program committee reserves the following rights: not to give an award; to split an award among several papers; and to define the notion of a newcomer. Papers authored or co-authored by Program Committee members are not eligible for an award.

Important Dates

Abstract Submission Deadline Aug. 7, 2008
Paper Submission Deadline Aug. 14, 2008
Notification Deadline Nov. 6, 2008
Camera ready Deadline Dec.15, 2008
Conference March 23–25, 2009

Keynote Speakers

Georg Gottlob

Victor Vianu

Program Chair

Ronald Fagin (IBM Almaden)

Program Committee

Albert Atserias (UPC Barcelona)
Denilson Barbosa (University of Alberta)
Pablo Barcelo (University of Chile)
Leopoldo Bertossi (Carleton University)
Mikolaj Bojanczyk (Warsaw University)
Diego Calvanese (FU Bozen-Bolzano)
Rada Chirkova (NC State University)
Sara Cohen (Hebrew University)
Cynthia Dwork (Microsoft Research)
Alexandre Evfimievski (IBM Almaden)
Ronald Fagin (chair, IBM Almaden)
Floris Geerts (University of Edinburgh)
Sanjeev Khanna (University of Pennsylvania)
Ravi Kumar (Yahoo! Research)
Leonid Libkin (University of Edinburgh)
Sebastian Maneth (National ICT Australia)
Renee Miller (University of Toronto)
Kenneth Ross (Columbia University)
Yehoshua Sagiv (Hebrew University)
Nicole Schweikardt (Frankfurt University)
Kyuseok Shim (Seoul National University)
Balder ten Cate (University of Amsterdam)
Jan Van den Bussche (Hasselt University)
Stijn Vansummeren (Hasselt University)
Erik Vee (Yahoo! Research)

Publicity Chair

Alexandre Evfimievski (IBM Almaden)

ICDT Council

Thomas Eiter, Ronald Fagin, Maurizio Lenzerini,
Leonid Libkin, Tova Milo, Marc Scholl,
Nicole Schweikardt, Thomas Schwentick,
Dan Suciu, Jan Van den Bussche (chair).